i nominate…

…..william jefferson clinton for king of america. 

last night i went to a political rally for barack obama & al franken – the highlight, Vice President Walter Mondale & President Clinton!  

let me just say that i love bill.  i don’t frankly care two craps about what happened with the monica-gate thing (that should have been a private batter betwix the clinton family).  President Clinton is, was and will always be one of the best Presidents of the modern era.  with that said, and with this being my blog and all – anyone choosing to flame bill in the comments, will be deleted.  it’s my party folks.

anywho, off my soap box – the rally was really interesting – lots of speakers from the mn house & senate + our rep’s from the us house and senator amy klobuchar.  veep Mondale was a bit of a surprise.  it was wild seeing him speak.  

 

 a kid waiting patiently reading his book about the presidents.

i was lucky enough to be about 20-25′ away from the stage and dead center.

the view behind me.  the speakers from the stage said there were about 5000 “real americans” there (ok, i added the bit about “real americans”).

the man! Vice President Walter Mondale.

this is actually my favorite shot of the night – senator amy klobuchar in a see of obama + franken = change signs.  i like amy.  i voted for her.  but never paid her much attention until last night.  her speech was electrifying and powerful.  a class act.

a girl in front of me in the crown.  nice shirt.

firefighters for obama/biden.  woof.  the short one was smokin’ hot (pun intended).

President Clinton and al franken make their entrance.

“it is an honor to have President Clinton joining us today. under his administration, we created jobs because our government understood that the middle class is the engine of our economy. with barack obama in the white house, i’ll work with amy klobuchar in the senate to make sure that we get back to focusing on the middle class again.”

“the change we need starts with electing barack obama president of the united states. but it’s not complete unless barack has a senate he can rely on to work with him, instead of just blocking his agenda — and that means we need to pull together and elect al franken. al understands that you grow the economy by investing in the middle class and putting working people first. and he’ll work with President Obama to make that happen.”

i love this dudes shirt “hopemonger”

here’s a quick vid i shot of President Clinton:

 

Explore posts in the same categories: life in a strange relationship, my photography, vox politik

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “i nominate…”

  1. Chris Says:

    You do not even understand how jealous I am. I fracking love Bill Clinton. Hell he could have been getting that bj while he was giving his State of the Union address for all I care!

  2. jimsmuse Says:

    I second your nomination!

    You must lead a charmed life: the closest I’ll ever get to meeting a president was George W. Bush (blech!) giving a wave to myself and the other catering staff at a rally I worked at years ago — and you were in THE PRESENCE, you lucky dog.

    Thank you for letting me live vicariously through you, madhouse6. It really means a lot to me. 🙂

  3. cb Says:

    I can’t believe they projected Obama + Franken = Change backward on that screen!

    🙂


  4. I HATE YOU. For being there, I mean, while I was too busy being NOT THERE. Bill for King! Obama for Prez! And Perez Hilton to Mars! I’m Snotty McSnotterson, and I approved of this endorsement.

  5. Sally Tomato Says:

    I’m so jealous. But I’m giving myself a heart attack daily. I cannot wait until this election is over. I can’t stop myself from obsessing over the polls!

  6. RG Says:

    I too love Bill Clinton.

    I met Bill Clinton in ’92 when he came to Boston to raise a butt-load of money. He played the saxaphone, gave a great speach and then did the handshake thing with the crowd. I got to shake his hand.

    I’m so jealous, because I live in the Bluest of Blue States, so it’s a forgone conclusion that Obama will carry the state, and with Kerry assuredly getting re-elected, it’s pretty boring here – politically anyway.


  7. I adore Bill. I just can’t understand why some people don’t…..

  8. Donnie Says:

    The Clinton era was definitely 8 of the best years our country had seen in a long time and I just hope and pray that the next 8 years are just like that.

  9. Jeff Says:

    Bill truly is a superstar, and the past 8 years only magnify his status in history.

  10. jimsmuse Says:

    I would like to add to my previous comment above — I have been wishing for the last eight years that I spit on George W. Bush’s canapes when I had the chance.


Leave a Reply

