reason #305 why i don’t want to “own”

when i was waist deep in the great apartment search of 2008, i got a ton of advice all pointing me towards home ownership.  believe me, i fully understand why i should buy, i just don’t want to (i think i have a mental block against ownership).  if i heard one more time how i was just throwing my money away, i was going to go postal.  seriously postal.  for effect, let me just repeat: i simply don’t want to own.  i don’t want to deal with things when they go wrong.  i don’t want to have to fork out big bucks to tear apart the street to replace plumbing.  i don’t want to deal with things of that nature.

things break – it’s a fact of life.  happens every day.  when things break, i like being able to just pick up the phone, call the landlord and arrange for a time that works for my schedule when the thing can be repaired/replaced. 

things such as this:

exhibit 305.  my broken washing machine with last nights dirty water just sittin’ there taunting me. 

no matter what you might say, i am perfectly happy to rent.  and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future.

Explore posts in the same categories: life in a strange relationship

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “reason #305 why i don’t want to “own””

  1. Donnie Says:

    I’m right there with ya, for the exact same reasons!

  2. Jeremy Says:

    Wow! Your place came with a washer that the landlord is responsible for? I want to move into your building!

  3. CJ Says:

    Darn. I thought you were a more responsible, can do type.:( I don’t blame you really. I can’t tell you how many times I wish I was back in my rented condo. Well let me see:after storm damage,AC malfunction,washer and dishwasher out of order,oh, oh and now the hot water heater is leaking. Your right Kyle.

  4. voenixrising Says:

    Amen to that. I rent for exactly the same reason. (And yes, my washer has gone out too.)


Leave a Reply

