an embarrassment of white walls

ok, this is my first attempt at one of those video posts – be kind. 

back when i was in milan last year, i discovered this amazing artist, antonio greco.  the man seriously rocks.  i purchased a print for me, a print as a gift for cb and an original sculpture called “totem”. pictured here:

my challenge is i have no idea where to hang it in my place.  so i created this lil’ video tour of my apartment in order to get your suggestions as to where it might look good. 

one idea i have have is to paint a square of a darker color – then hang the totem on the square (i.e., a frame of color) in order to make it “pop”.  i just have a lot of huge white walls and the piece is fairly small – about a foot in length.

thoughts?

 

Explore posts in the same categories: video post

13 Comments on “an embarrassment of white walls”

  1. RG Says:

    I like the idea of a highlight square painted on the wall to frame it. However, I don’t have a clue where you should put it though.

    Cool place btw. And for the record very sexy voice. Seriously…..

  2. erik Says:

    Hmm, a puzzle indeed. I don’t think I would put it in the corner, because it looks like the lamp would be in the way. I think I’d move the black picture that is by the window and put it there.

  3. Kelly Stern Says:

    i would put it over next to the australian art above what looks to be a thermostat… nice little thin wall there for a thing piece of artwork… and nice video post… keep them up you were good…

  4. bigisland20 Says:

    wait. what were you standing in front of right when you started the video? something wood? would it look cool there? couldn’t really tell what it was…but that is what struck me after i finished watching.

    and LOVED. the. video. post. you do not look or sound like a dork. i liked how you rolled your eyes when you said that…hehehe.

    i also liked the idea of a highlight square painted. never seen it before, but it sounds totally awesome.

    the apartment looks cool! i’m impressed by what you have hanging on the walls already and you have not even been there that long!

    i only have one real piece of “art”. it was painted by a previous neighbor’s son, whose uncle is an artist (william debilzan). and his style of painting is somewhat similar to his uncle’s. so i feel like i have a debilzan original, but i didn’t pay for it…hehehe. it was a gift. i used to have some b&w photographs i had taken framed, but somehow they got lost in the shuffle of a move at some point.

    i guess you could consider my print by andrew wyeth “art”, but it’s only a print. it makes me feel good to look at it and i guess that is the point of anything hanging on your wall. “master bedroom” is the title. i want to take a pic of my dog the same way.

  5. Ray Says:

    Put it on the post that you started the camera from. The color will compliment it well.

  6. Jason Says:

    I was going to say that post right by the two steps up, but it’s a little low and if it’s expensive I’m afraid it might get knocked.

    I go for the post too.

  7. cb Says:

    I think it should go on the wall where the steps go up into the den. I know it is going to be all music stuff up there, but you will be able to see the totem then from the entryway AND from the kitchen AND when you go up to the den.

  8. Jeremy Says:

    I agree with cb. I like the idea for the painted frame.

    Also, please do more videos. I could look and listen to you all day.

  9. Tony Says:

    As a former picture framer, I think you should have it put in a plexi-box with a black linen float. It will protect it nicely and give you more options for moving it around. When I say plexi box I don’t mean cheap crappy Charrette’s off the rack. Someone in your area must do museum quality framing. We used to get them custom made from a company here in Mass. called Smallcorp.

    I agree with CB. I think the wall where the steps are would be a good location.

  10. Wit Says:

    I agree with the others who say the wall near the steps.

  11. YvesPaul Says:

    Yeah, a shadowbox would be cool.

  12. Matt Says:

    I totally agree with what some others said – the area between the living room and the place where magic happens – is that a wood post? I completely zeroed in on that being the perfect place right away.

    And great to see a video post!!!

  13. 42 Says:

    I was transported back to #304 circa 2003 except some bitch went and threw out all my shit. what did you do with the cat? the plants? the arrrrt?

    srsly, that’s identical to my apt. except for the furniture and art and stuff 🙂


Leave a Reply

